Bringing More Fun to the World!

Iloilo Dinagyang Fest 2014

Dinagyang is Iloilo City’s version of the Ati-Atihan festival widely celebrated not only in Panay Island but also in other parts of the country. It may not be as ancient as the one in Kalibo in Aklan Province, but is definitely impressive in choreography and striking in terms of the various attires worn by participating tribes which reflect the ingenuity, craftsmanship and artistry of the Ilonggos.

An Ilonggo term for revelry or merrymaking, Dinagyang was coined in 1977 by Ilonggo writer/broadcaster Pacifico Sudario to describe the riotous celebration. Prior to this, Dinagyang was labeled “Iloilo Ati-Atihan” to differentiate it from other Ati-Atihan festivals.

The Festival has been adjudged the country’s tourism event of the year by the Association of Tourism Officers of the Philippines for three consecutive years from 2006 to 2008.

Read more: Iloilo’s Dinagyang Festival

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

8 Responses to Bringing More Fun to the World!

  1. marianina says:

    Wow, great photos!I love the colors and the “point of view”!

  2. sjanima says:

    I love the colors of Dinagyang and you also captured the energy and the passion of the dancers. Magnifico!

  3. Trisha says:

    I envy you. I wish I were that good with the camera.

    If I stay there for just two days during the festival, do you think it’s just a waste of airfare? I mean is there anything else worth doing or seeing after the day of the festival? How long did you stay in Iloilo for Dinagyang 2014? Does the Iloilo Tourism Board provide tour guides?

    Sorry for the barrage of questions. It’s just that I was away for so long and I want to see more of what I missed during those years.

    • Nah… I don’t really consider myself “good” with a camera… just lucky, i guess, at being at the right spot at the right moment. 🙂

      Dinagyang is actually a week-long celebration (or was it a month-long one this year? i was there for just two days–Saturday and Sunday), capped by a three-day series of festivities: Drum & Bugle Corps Tournament (which my hometown of Dingle won, two years in a row now) and a fluvial parade of Sto. Niños (Friday); Kasadyahan (this year showcased the other festivals in Western Visayas (Saturday); and the Ati-atihan Competition followed by a night of merrymaking (Sunday).

      When in Iloilo, you can easily hie off to nearby Guimaras Island (I’m just finishing my write up about it and will be posting soon) or, you can spend a night in Isla Gigantes in Concepcion–both destinations boast pristine beaches… or, if you’re a history-and-culture buff like i am, you can visit the many centuries-old churches in Iloilo (Miag-ao and Molo churches, for example. See: https://brahmineyes.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/iloilo-churches-fusing-art-and-history/).

      The Iloilo Tourism Board will be more than happy to assist you, but I’m not sure if they provide tour guides… for sure, they’ll have some recommendations for you.

      As i always say, no destination is a waste of time, money, and effort if you have the correct mindset.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

