Shatter me.

On my way home from the office, I looked up the horizon — which, from my vantage point along Makati Avenue, comprises the posh condominiums of Rockwell PowerPlant — and witnessed the full moon rising. It was so magnificently perched on top of the tallest building in Rockwell that I soon found myself literally sprinting just to reach home as fast as I could, for me to capture the scene.

Alas, when I got to my building’s roof deck, she already flew away and hid among the clouds. I suddenly felt a pang of melancholy that I lost the desire to shoot, ‘cept for one photograph.

Packing my gear away, I began the slow descent to my own little world on the 9th floor. As I stowed my camera bag on top of the cabinet,  a paperback fell. I absentmindedly picked it up, and by some stroke of serendipity, read these lines:

“The moon is a loyal companion. It never leaves. It’s always there, watching, steadfast, knowing us in our light and dark moments, changing forever just as we do. Every day it’s a different version of itself. Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human. Uncertain. Alone. Cratered by imperfections.”

“Wha–!” I almost blurted out… I was really dumbfounded. Is Fate trying to tell me something, or is this just one weird coincidence?

I’d rather not venture a guess….

Here’s the photo, by the way:

DSC_8006a

… and the book that fell? It’s Shatter Me by  Tahereh Mafi. I haven’t read it… maybe I should?

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

4 Responses to Shatter me.

  1. Andy says:

    Those little moments of serendipity happen all the time. I love them 🙂

  2. 🙂

    by the way… i skimmed through the book Shatter Me…. uhm… i cannot decide whether it’s a novel or an anthology of metaphors. hahahaha!

  3. sjanima says:

    love the pic, awesome photography, last night I fell in love with Manila again.

Leave a Reply

