Start ’em young…

Today, I was awakened by my daughter Abby’s incessant Dad-I-need-a-pen pleas, reinforced by her non-stop shaking and banging of the headboard.

I sleepily stood up and handed her a ballpoint pen, forgetting my very own no-pencil-or-pen-or-any-pointed-object-in-her-hands policy. A few seconds ticked by before I realized my mistake! I hastily got off the bed, rushed out of the bedroom — half praying that Abby hasn’t poked her eyes, or someone’s, with my pen yet and half memorizing a litany of Dos and Don’ts. Searching for her in the living room, I found her hunched over in the corner, busy scribbling something on a notebook, with the morning sun illuminating her… What a sight to behold!
DSC_2700a

DSC_2707

Argue all you want, but this is a LOVE LETTER written to me by my daughter, Abby.

Seeing me, she stood up and handed me the notebook, insisting that I read what she has written… er, scribbled. Not wanting to hurt her feelings, I ‘invented’ some once-upon-a-time spiel and pretended to read.

She pouted her lips and said, “Dad, you’re reading it wrong!”

“Why honey, what does it say,” I asked, picking her up in my arms to take her back to bed — yes, I was still hoping I could still salvage what little darkness was left and catch some more errant Zs.

She whispered,”Dad, I wrote: I love you, Daddy.”

I was speechless!

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

9 Responses to Start ’em young…

  1. Jodie says:

    What a beautiful article… very touching story… Your Abby is a gem! (Pahiram! Hehe)

  2. Jaye says:

    That can certainly make any day…. sigh … kids are such precious gifts…

  3. sjanima says:

    Inggit naman ako, my daughters are not that sweet though their sungit express love, how I wish they’ll be more like Abby. If pwede na hiramin si Abby, daanan namin, ipasyal lang at alagaan for few hours, ha ha ha. šŸ˜€

  4. delia mendoza says:

    šŸ˜‰ lucky father!

  5. crisellebelda says:

    Parang naiyak ako djn sir heheh so sweet angel

Leave a Reply

