… on Oscar Wilde’s De Profundis

If there is one singular emotion that has everyone mystified (me, included),  it is LOVE.

Love has inspired a many wars, plays, songs and tales; produced legends and icons — from the goddess Athena and Helen of Troy to Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Love has made enemies into friends and friends into enemies. It has torn people apart, yet brought back together families, lovers and nations. Prodded us to do irrational things, yet extolled us to do good. So, what then can this emotion not do? It is difficult to point a finger at what it is incapable of, but I know, there is still a lot love can do.

There is so much to love, that it is too difficult to sum up into this simple missive.

What is love? I don’t know exactly, but everyone manages to express it in the best possible way they can.

Love letters included.

I consider Oscar Wilde’s De Profundis as the longest love letter ever written. It literally took my breath away when I read an abbreviated version, prompting me to immediately seek out the full version.

It gave so much insight into the man. I found it heartbreaking ultimately. It was real, painful, the words on the biblical story of Jesus as the most perfect of tragedies compelling. I know some believe he was insincere in what he wrote. I am with those who think otherwise. I found it very sad that he was unable to live up to his hopes for himself when he left prison. There is a tremendous story by itself on why he may not have been able to, for personal reasons and for the times in which he lived.

Read it to experience it.

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

