“Manamit gali manghugas ka pinggan!”

I wrote this in the vernacular to get the full effect of the story . This was told by my (late) grandmother, delivered in rapid Kinaray-a and complete with saucy charm. I have asked a dear friend of mine to provide the translation…

Ay abaw, karang pagkilal-anay namon ni Lolo nyo Tomas, defuga, waay pa takon guid it hinalung-ong pa kadaang mga inasawahay. Ti, karang magdesisyun tamon mapakasal, amo ko pa lang maman-an ya mga bagay-bagay tungod sa sex. Si Mama nyo pa Imang ya nag-istorya kanakun parte ka daa.

Mana kanakun, “Ti Inday Fina, daraga ka dun kagmanugpamana, ti may mga dapat kamo himuon ka bana mo — namitan ka man ukon indi, ti waay kaw pilian kundi himuon dulang. Paminsara lang nga daw gapanghugas kaw ka pinggan ah, nga kun kaisa, bisan ginatamadan kaw, waay kaw mahimo kundi hugasan dulang.”

Man-an daa ni Lola Imang nyo nga indi ko guid gusto manghugaska pinggan. Ti, tapos namon kasal, tapos dun honeymoon ah, gin-adtunan ko guid sya kag hutikan, “Abaw Mama, manamit gali manghugas ka pinggan!”


About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

3 Responses to “Manamit gali manghugas ka pinggan!”

  1. tinted spirit says:

    Here’s my version of the Kinaray-a to English translation contest
    (Just discovered today I can understand Kinaray-a, mabuhey

    Ay, abaw! When I first met your Lolo Tomas, de fuga!(Spanish curse?) , I had no idea regarding the nooks and crannies of marriage. So, when we finally decided to get married, that was the only time I learned these little details about sex. Mama Imang told me a tale about “it”.

    She told me, “So, Inday Fina, you are now a lady and about to wed, there are things you and your husband have to do—whether you’ll like it or not, you have no choice but to do ‘it’. Just imagine you’re washing the dishes ah! like you know, even if you’re too lazy to do it, you have no choice but to wash them.”

    Your Lola Imang knew very well I really hated washing the dishes. So, after the wedding, and after the honeymoon, ah!!! I deliberately approached your Lola Imang and whispered to her this, “Oh, mama, washing the dishes, is after all, delicious!” =))

  2. argeesabine says:

    Am assuming am one of those “dear friends” :). So, here’s my attempt at translation:

    So yea, when your Lolo Tomas and I were dating, I was clueless about anything on marriage. Thus, when we decided to hitch up, twas then I was: “enlightened” on sex and its intricacies. Fact is, twas your Mama Imang who did the bit.

    So she says: ” Inday Fina, you are of age to get married and it is time you know what to do with your husband – like it or not, you must see it as an obligation. To get the feel, liken the task to washing dishes. Tedious it may seem, yet you HAVE to do the chore.”

    This, when and how your Lola Imang knows I abhor doing the dishes! Thus the wedding date came and right after the honeymoon, I only had this to confide to her : ” Whoa Mama, never expected washing dishes would be such a delight to the senses!”

  3. brahmineyes says:

    BRAVO!!!

    @Argee: you made my lola sound hip!

    @Tanya: “nooks and crannies” pala ha… hehehehe…

Leave a Reply

