A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Wrapped in an indigo blanket, I curled up in my bed, a book precariously balanced in my left hand. My right arm wrapped around my body, keeping the cool night air from reaching my naked skin. I was already slipping in and out of consciousness, but I was determined to finish this book.

With arms aching and eyes burning with exhaustion, I dug myself deeper into my bed as I continued to read. Peering over the pages, I noticed a cat perched on top of the couch glaring down at my sleeping dog. A smile creeps onto my face at the comfort I feel inside the room — my room.

My eyes finally succumbed to sleep. From a distance, I can hear the rumbling sound of thunder…

Walking down a gray cobblestone path, I saw her come face to face with a black wrought-iron gate that opened into a spacious garden. Heading into the heart of ‘Eden’, she took in her surroundings. The white picket fences were barely visible behind coiffed shrubbery, where brightly colored flowers intersperse with all the greenery. Purple and orange hues of petals were a stunning contrast against the paleness of the twigs.

Following the woman quietly, I saw her look up, watching the sun being slowly overpowered by dark clouds, their heaviness and weight bearing down on the earth. The smell of impending rain in the air, dark clouds threatening to break and Mother Nature filling my soul — these are the days I love the most. I welcome the rains, never deterring me in the least.

As tiny pitter-patter of droplets began to fall on the lovely figure in front of me, I saw her bend down and took off her slippers, carelessly tossing them aside. Like a young child standing on the lush grass, she wiggled her toes, feeling the coolness beneath her feet. Tipping her head once again to the sky, she closed her eyes, feeling the air rush over her face. I was dumbfounded by the sight — a Grecian goddess came to life!

Amid these surreal environs, my mind let go, allowing the walls to come down on me. My thoughts were lost as I also felt every single drop of rain caress my tired face. I raised my hand to touch my cheek, savoring the coolness of the rainwater on my skin. Tracing my hand across my face as more rain kissed my skin, I felt emancipated — from what, I dare not think anymore. Slowly the rain started to fall in torrents, like a gray veil cast upon my eyes, as if giving me permission…  no, as if encouraging me to let go of the turmoil welling up inside me. Tears started to fill my eyes.

As rivulets of tears began to descend down my cheeks, I saw my goddess lift her arms above her head, palms out, letting the now steady flow of rain envelop her being. Opening her mouth, she seemed to be savoring each droplet of rain… I did too, albeit mixed in with the salt from my tears.

Noticing my own bare footedness, I made my way over to a seat I espied on earlier — partly shielded from the precipitation by a droopy mango tree — the wetness seeping through my denim jeans as I sat down. As the wind picked up and whipped through the branches above me, more raindrops fell, soaking my already wet clothes now clinging to my body.

The woman was now sitting on the drenched grass, arms wrapped around her legs, hugging them to her chest. With her chin resting on her knees, she was a picture of wanton sadness, her loneliness beginning to manifest freely. For a while, I forgot my own inner turmoil. I heard quiet sobs stir from deep within her, as if the gates to her soul had been opened.

The rain continued to fall, plastering wisps of hair over my tear-filled eyes. I held my face on my hands, burying my eyes on my palms. Completely forgetting about the forlorn maiden I had been following, I started to feel comfort in the rain and the wind around me. As if Mother Nature was holding me close, letting me know it is okay to release all that I hold so dear. My thoughts turn to loss and loneliness wishing I could find this comfort also in other people.

The noise of the downpour as it hit the leaves filled my ears, the presence of another soul not even felt. My body jumped as fingertips traced over the tears running down my cheeks. I looked up startled, her eyes gazing at my tear-stained face. She moved her hands and brushed away the hair that has now fallen into my eyes. Her touch was soft yet confident.

For a while, I just sat there staring at her, her long black coat hanging heavily from the weight of the rain, hair plastered against her angelic face. Drenched white shirt outlined the delicious curves of her supple body, black denim jeans patchy from walking through the weather. This dark-haired, emerald-eyed stranger, who moments ago was a picture of sadness had sought me out. Through my emptiness a small smile tugged at my lips at this reversal of fortune — the stalker was now the one stalked.

Dropping my legs, I leaned back as she bent over gently, taking my face onto her hands and kissed each of my cheeks, as if lifting the tears off my face. As she softly pressed her lips against mine, I took over her. A hushed moan escaped instantaneously from her throat as I deepened our kiss. With our tongues entwined, all our sadness and loneliness were set free. A sense of peace filled us both.

As if on cue, she broke away, smiling, knowing what she had just given me. She took my left hand into hers, raised it to her mouth and ran her wet tongue on my wrist. I laughed. She whispered something in my ear then kissed me once more on each eye lid before turning and walking away from me. I wanted to follow her, my Grecian goddess… but I was rendered motionless by her kiss, just contented to watch her go as the wind lifted her coat behind her. She confidently strode toward the wrought-iron gates in the distance… her whispered words still reverberating in my ears: You’ll never know what the future may hold. I lifted my fingers to my mouth still feeling the warmth of her kiss and I smiled.

THUD! The book I was reading dropped from my hands with a soft thud… the freezing chill seeped through my bones as my blanket fell to the floor. Lifting my hand to my cheek, I felt her warm lips on my dried-up tears.

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

