Remembering what is important…

Listening to the rhythm of the pounding waves, I made my way along the sandy beach of Cagbalete Island, my bare feet making prints in the earth, which the ocean quickly washed away. In the distance, the murmur of small outrigger bancas as they cruise along the waves played in harmony with the sound of the sea as it kissed the rocks of Bonsai Shoal.

With Villa Cleofas – where we were staying – behind me, I could still hear childish laughter filtering through the pine trees that dotted the coastline: Yes, pine trees! The shrieks and cries of those two little girls as they played with their father in the surf were like music to my ears. Taking a deep breath, I slowly drew in the salty air, wishing I could make this time pass more slowly.

Continuing my solitary stroll to Bonsai Shoal, I followed the coastline as it gently curved where a black petrified wood met the sea. Tiny pools of water were held hostage in the tree’s crevices, filled with sea life and abandoned shells. Fascinated, I stooped down to watch, delighting in this unfamiliar site.

I continued my journey, careful not to cut my feet on the sharp rocks, hopping along the seafloor, exposed as the tide withdrew to the sea, and littered with kelp and remnants of various corals – tabulates and perforates. Reaching the edge of that tiny shoal, I sat down to watch the fierce waves that tried so hard to reach me.

From my perch, I watched in the distance as two friends, or lovers maybe, played catch with the sea. Taunting the waves and holding hands, they rushed into the ocean, only to retreat in thrilled cries as the waves ran to meet them. I saw some of my travel buddies watching from the shore, happy smiles on their faces.

Their smiles matched mine. In less than a day, Cagbalete Island had wiped the stress and cares from our eyes. The frantic pace of everyday office life – the deadlines, job worries and graduate school concerns – were now dim memories left far behind in our other lives – at least for the moment.

That day there was only us – friends and lovers, colleagues and workmates – together. Life had taken on a different perspective, paring it down to what was simple and most important.

Closing my eyes, I made a mental picture of the sun as it set in the horizon, casting its last rays of light on the people I have been working with for almost a year now. Then remembering the camera slung lazily across my shoulder, I pulled it out quickly, snapping up a treasure trove of memories.

It’s been days now since that weekend on the island, but I could still feel the cool ocean breeze on my face and the salty air on my mouth. When life becomes too rushed and when work becomes tedious and monotonous, I just look at the photos I took… and then, I can hear the waves as they pound their song on the sand, and feel those last rays of sunshine on my shoulder as the sun goes down. And every time I do, it makes me smile, and I remember what is most important.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

5 Responses to Remembering what is important…

  1. Nice post! Your language itself contained the sounds and the rhythms of the ocean you were describing.

  2. tinted spirit says:

    “the day is lovelier, especially when you’re awake” (borrowed the line from one of Asin’s songs), thank you for sharing a glimpse of that beautiful moment….

  3. These memories always put perpsective on our normal work stresses. It sounds lovely

  4. Your words took me right there and for a moment I believe I could feel..
    Thank you!
    Chris

Leave a Reply

