Power

This morning I woke up praying for the strength and courage to conquer the day and its challenges. I took out my notes, my journal, books I usually “consult” when I’m looking for something I can’t find in my mental archives. I realized that what I was looking for is power. Any kind of power to fuel me, to prop me up. As I was walking along Valero Street, I kept picturing myself with a really big, scruffy, bodyguard behind me. I just knew it’s an angel, albeit a little grumpy and not predisposed to smiling. It made me happy knowing I can still visualize these things. It could just be my imagination but I can swear people passing by were looking at something behind me. I was pretty sure the babies and the dogs were staring. I guess they really did see the big, scruffy, no-nonsense, get-out-of-my-way big, big guy. When I got here I opened my mail and read this. I decided to share it with you just so you know that people do find what they’re looking for. Sometimes we don’t even have to look that hard. Sometimes, when we want it so bad, it just happens.

Read on…

I’m always fascinated by lists of “Most Powerful People,” and by the ways they use external things—fame, status, wealth—to define and rank power. It’s curious how a person can go from the top of a list one year to unlisted the next—all in the blink of a board meeting. Was that person’s power real, or was the power only in the position? We often get the two confused.

For me, there is no real power without spiritual power. A power that comes from the core of who you are and reflects all that you were meant to be. A power that’s connected to the source of things. When you see this kind of power shining through someone in all its truth and certainty, it’s irresistible, inspiring, elevating. I can feel it in myself sometimes, mostly when I’m sharing an insight that I know will have an impact on someone’s life and I can see that they “get it.” I get real joy from helping other people experience aha moments. That is where my power lies.

Gary Zukav writes in The Seat of the Soul, “When we align our thoughts, emotions, and actions with the highest part of ourselves, we are filled with enthusiasm, purpose, and meaning… When the personality comes fully to serve the energy of its soul, that is authentic empowerment.” Fulfilling your purpose, with meaning, is what gives you that electrifying “juice” and makes people stand in wonder at how you do it.

The secret is alignment: when you know for sure that you’re on course and doing exactly what you’re supposed to be doing, fulfilling your soul’s intention, your heart’s desire, or whatever you choose to call it (they’re all the same thing). When your life is on course with its purpose, you are your most powerful. And you may stumble, but you will not fall.

I know for sure that in every challenging experience there’s an opportunity to grow, enhance your life, or learn something invaluable about yourself. Every challenge can make you stronger if you allow it. Strength multiplied = power.

For real.

[What I Know For Sure, written by Oprah Winfrey]

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

2 Responses to Power

  1. Wow! “A power that comes from the core of you…”. This morning I have a meeting that I was dreading. I don’t normally live in fear but yesterday I lost my stride and was afraid. Thank you yet again and I think I will take an angel with me today.

  2. brahmineyes says:

    … and may your angel lift your spirits and imbue you with the courage to face each day.

Leave a Reply

