Of rivers and men…

Hanging bridgeMost of us are familiar with the adage: Silent rivers, run deep… But who among us know about the saying: Old rivers run straight? Let’s skip the “silent river” blah-blah for this note, as we all know its symbolism… yeah, yeah… that intelligent people are not (supposed to be) blabbermouths… oh well…

I remember in high school geography how we were taught that rivers, when born, meander for eons until they are able to carve out a definite path. So imagine how long it took for the Nile and the Amazon — or closer to home, the Cagayan River — to eke out those mighty channels they run through today. At their longest, maybe these rivers span kilometers straightward.

I guess you’ve an idea now what i’m driving at…

You see, a river’s behavior is not unlike that of a man. Akin to a river being born, an adolescent man can be restless (restless youth ring a bell?), at times, careless. Not really wanting to stay put, always yearning to explore new paths. He “meanders” through relationships, not really knowing what he wants. Heed the advise of a wise man: Never cage a wild animal, for like a young river, erecting a dam to control its current can mean disaster, as its waters will always find a way to continue its flow.

And how about the older river running straight? Well, I’ll just let you in on my personal experience. Actually, it’s my entire love story summed up in sex, er, I mean, six stanzas:

When I was 16, I got a girlfriend, but there was no passion. So I decided I needed a passionate girl with a zest for life.

In college, I dated a passionate gal, but she was too emotional. Everything was an emergency, she was a drama queen, cried all the time and threatened suicide. So I decided I needed a girl with stability.

When I was 23, I found a very stable girl but she was boring. She was totally predictable and never got excited about anything. Life became so dull that I decided I needed a girl with some excitement.

When I was 32, I found an exciting woman, but I couldn’t keep up with her. She rushed from one party to another, never settling on anything. She did mad, impetuous things and flirted with everyone she met. She made me miserable as often as happy. She was great fun initially and very energetic, but directionless. So I decided to find a woman with some ambition.

When I turned 36, I found a smart ambitious lady with her feet planted firmly on the ground so I moved in with her. She was so ambitious that she dumped me and took everything I owned.

Nearing 40 now, and all I’m looking for is a WOMAN! PERIOD!

Get my drift? As a man progresses in years, his needs become simpler, more straightforward and less complicated. His goals are more realistic and achievable… like mine now: ALL I WANTED IS TO HAVE A CUP OF BLACK COFFEE…

About Seeing with Brahmin eyes
My sense of humor can be keen, sarcastic, silly or corny -- sometimes all at once. I enjoy meeting new people with no preconceived ideas about what or what is not possible. You get much more out of life by being open minded and willing. I'm an easy going, good-natured person who loves life and loves people. I'm both optimistic and realistic and pretty objective when it comes to assessing situations, events, etc. In general I am a very positive person and you'll usually find we with a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

